Holiday Pick Up Schedule

  1. 2020 Holiday Trash/Recycling Schedule
Date Holiday Collection
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 New Year's Day No pickup Wednesday.
Wednesday & Thursday routes picked up one day later than usual.
Monday, January 20, 2020 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Regular service.
Monday, February 17, 2020 Presidents' Day No pickup Monday.
All routes picked up one day later than usual all week.
Monday, May 25, 2020 Memorial Day No pickup Monday.
All routes picked up one day later than usual all week.
Saturday, July 4, 2020 Independence Day Pickup not impacted.
Monday, September 7, 2020 Labor Day No pickup Monday.
All routes picked up one day later than usual all week.
Wednesday, November 11, 2020 Veterans Day No pickup Wednesday.
Wednesday & Thursday routes picked up one day later than usual.
Thursday, November 26, 2020 Thanksgiving Day Thursday routes collected Monday, November 30 and Friday, December 4.
The week after Thanksgiving, all routes picked up one day later than usual.
Week of Monday, Nov. 30, 2020 Week after Thanksgiving All routes picked up one day later than usual all week.
Thursday, December 24, 2020 Christmas Eve Regular service.
Friday, December 25, 2020 Christmas Day Pickup not impacted.
Thursday, December 31, 2020 New Year's Eve Regular service.
Holiday Solid Waste Pick Up Guide
Before a Holiday
If your regular collection day falls before the holiday in a calendar week, your trash will be collected on your regular day.

On or After the Holiday
If your regular collection day falls on or after the holiday in a calendar week, your trash will be collected one day later than usual.

Sunday
When a holiday falls on a Sunday, all trash collection for the following week will be collected one day later than usual.

Thanksgiving
For the Thanksgiving holiday, Thursday’s routes will be collected both Monday and Friday the week after Thanksgiving; all other routes the week after Thanksgiving will be collected one day later than usual.

Additional Information
Holiday pick-up schedule information is distributed as a press release to or available at the following:
Radio Stations
  • KCJJ
  • KRNA
  • KXIC
Newspapers
  • Cedar Rapids and Iowa City Gazette
  • Community News Advertiser
  • Daily Iowan
  • Iowa City Press-Citizen
TV Stations
  • KCRG
  • KGAN