Holiday Pick Up Schedule

  1. 2019 Holiday Trash/Recycling Schedule
Date Holiday Collection
Tuesday, January 1, 2019 New Year's Day No pickup Tuesday.
Tuesday, Wednesday, & Thursday routes picked up one day later than usual.
Monday, January 21, 2019 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Regular service
Monday, February 18, 2019 Presidents' Day No pickup Monday.
All routes picked up one day later than usual all week.
Monday, May 27, 2019 Memorial Day No pickup Monday.
All routes picked up one day later than usual all week.
Thursday, July 4, 2019 Independence Day No pickup Thursday.
Thursday routes picked up on Friday.
Monday, September 2, 2019 Labor Day No pickup Monday.
All routes picked up one day later than usual all week.
Monday, November 11, 2019 Veterans Day No pickup Monday.
All routes picked up one day later than usual all week.
Thursday, November 28, 2019 Thanksgiving Day Thursday routes collected Monday, December 2 and Friday, December 6.
The week after Thanksgiving, all routes picked up one day later than usual.
Tuesday, December 24, 2019 Christmas Eve Regular service
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Christmas Day No pickup Wednesday.
Wednesday and Thursday routes picked up one day late.
Tuesday, December 31, 2019 New Year's Eve Regular service
Holiday Solid Waste Pick Up Guide
Before a Holiday
If your regular collection day falls before the holiday in a calendar week, your trash will be collected on your regular day.

On or After the Holiday
If your regular collection day falls on or after the holiday in a calendar week, your trash will be collected one day later than usual.

Sunday
When a holiday falls on a Sunday, all trash collection for the following week will be collected one day later than usual.

Thanksgiving
For the Thanksgiving holiday, Thursday’s routes will be collected both Monday and Friday the week after Thanksgiving; all other routes the week after Thanksgiving will be collected one day later than usual.

Additional Information
Holiday pick-up schedule information is distributed as a press release to or available at the following:
Radio Stations
  • KCJJ
  • KRNA
  • KXIC
Newspapers
  • Cedar Rapids and Iowa City Gazette
  • Community News Advertiser
  • Daily Iowan
  • Iowa City Press-Citizen
TV Stations
  • KCRG
  • KGAN