Holiday Pick Up Schedule

  1. 2016 Holiday Trash Schedule
  2. 2015 Holiday Trash Schedule
Date Holiday Collection
Friday, January 1, 2016 New Year's Day Not impacted
Monday, January 18, 2016 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Regular service
Monday, February 15, 2016 Presidents' Day No pickup Monday.  All routes picked up one day later than usual all week.
Monday, May 30, 2016 Memorial Day No pickup Monday.  All routes picked up one day later than usual all week.
Monday, July 4, 2016 Independence Day No pickup Monday.  All routes picked up one day later than usual all week.
Monday, September 5, 2016 Labor Day No pickup Monday.  All routes picked up one day later than usual all week.
Friday, November 11, 2016 Veterans Day Not impacted
Thursday, November 24, 2016 Thanksgiving Day No pickup on Thanksgiving.
Thursday routes picked up Monday, November 28 and Friday, December 2. 
The week after Thanksgiving, all routes picked up one day later than usual.
Monday, December 26, 2016 Christmas Day (observed) No pickup Monday.  All routes picked up one day later than usual all week.
Holiday Solid Waste Pick Up Guide
Before a Holiday
If your regular collection day falls before the holiday in a calendar week, your trash will be collected on your regular day.

On or After the Holiday
If your regular collection day falls on or after the holiday in a calendar week, your trash will be collected one day later than usual.

Sunday
When a holiday falls on a Sunday, all trash collection for the following week will be collected one day later than usual.

Thanksgiving
For the Thanksgiving holiday, Thursday’s routes will be collected both Monday and Friday the week after Thanksgiving; all other routes the week after Thanksgiving will be collected one day later than usual.

Additional Information
Holiday pick-up schedule information is distributed as a press release to or available at the following:
Radio Stations
  • KCJJ
  • KRNA
  • KXIC
Newspapers
  • Cedar Rapids and Iowa City Gazette
  • Community News Advertiser
  • Daily Iowan
  • Iowa City Press-Citizen
TV Stations
  • KCRG
  • KGAN